15
May
13

On our way!

Somehow or another, each of us has found our way to the end of yet another semester, participated in hooding and graduation, submitted grades, and something a little different: found our way to O’Hare airport to board a long flight for Beijing.

I cannot speak (or write) for anyone else, but the run-up to departure for me was frantic. I didn’t sleep much before it was suddenly time to head to the airport. Lots of hugs from my boys (and many a question answered for the more awake of the 4.5 year olds), and I was on my way.

Today is lost to travel — we left Chicago Tuesday just afternoon, and arrive in Beijing Wednesday afternoon. We’ll get settled and walk a bit before trying to get a good night’s sleep. Our time in Beijing (three days) will mostly be spent sightseeing, with a night train to Dalian at the end of the day on Saturday.

I’m excited to see some of the many historic sites in Beijing. But what I think I’m looking to most in the next few days is the visit to the Great Wall. I’m hoping to get to see at least some nature there — something that I expect will be in short supply in Beijing.

I packed my camera, and even managed to pick up the SD card reader for my iPad before leaving. So, I’ll try to get pictures up soon, if I can!

Cheryl Heinz (butterflydoc)

3 Responses to “On our way!”


  1. 1 Martin Tracey
    May 15, 2013 at 7:37 pm

    I’ll be interested to hear your impressions as an ecologist, Cheryl, about air quality in and around Beijing … It’s notoriously bad, I know. Have you learned anything about innovative ways they may be trying to make it better?

  2. 2 butterflydoc
    May 20, 2013 at 12:38 pm

    Thanks for the comment, Martin! No, we did not make academic contacts in Beijing, and my contact here in Dalian works on fungal plant pathology. So nothing on the air quality… But it is bad here. It got progressively worse while we were in Beijing, appearing totally overcast by our last day, but it was more likely smog than clouds. It’s better now in Dalian, but we have not totally escaped it… There’s an incredible amount of construction here, which is kicking a lot of dust into the air.


Leave a Reply

